h1

Houston’s “Jade House”

July 20, 2009

I went to Houston this past weekend to visit family and while I was there, I went to find one of my favorite vendors from the International Gem and Jewelry Show (www.intergem.com), the Jade House (www.jadehouseweb.com).  Although I had their address, I had a little difficulty finding them.  I had been there before, but it had been a couple of years, so I thought I knew where they were, but they weren’t there!  Apparently they moved about a year ago… still on the same street and the same vacinity, but tucked away in a back corner of a shopping center.

It’s much like a treasure hunt going there… it is a very small, narrow shop.  When you walk in, the main aisle is only wide enough for 1 person, and there are bins upon bins stacked on and under open shelving, full of semi-precious gemstone strands.  You have to pull out each one to see what’s in them!  On top of the bins, there are trays of loose pendants, loose stones and Cubic Zirconia beads.

What I mainly went in there for were some wavy silver beads so that I could make a custom request necklace for a customer that matches these “Dangling Daisy” earrings in my shop:Dangling Daisy Earrings

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=28081124

Fortunately, those were easy to find.  They had all of their silver beads and findings in little bags on one of the walls.  But, as always, I leave there with more in my bag than what I went in there for… more to come on my other finds…

2 comments

  1. Love the blog…love the earrings….love it all!!! Can’t wait to see what you’re working on next!! Post some serving pieces!



Leave a comment